Alignment: Lawful good
Hit Die: d10

Class Skills: The paladin's class skills (and the key ability for each skill) are Concentration (Con), Craft (Int), Diplomacy (Cha), Handle Animal (Cha), Heal (Wis), Knowledge (religion) (Int), Profession (Wis), and Ride (Dex).

Weapon and Armor Proficiency: Paladins are proficient with all simple and martial weapons, with all types of armor (heavy, medium, and light), and with shields.

Table: Paladin
Class Level Base
Attack Bonus
Fort Save Ref Save Will Save
1 +1 +2 +0 +0 Detect evil, divine grace, lay on hands, divine health
2 +2 +3 +0 +0 Aura of courage, smite evil
3 +3 +3 +1 +1 Remove disease, turn undead
4 +4 +4 +1 +1  
5 +5 +4 +1 +1 Special mount
6 +6/+1 +5 +2 +2 Remove disease 2/week
7 +7/+2 +5 +2 +2  
8 +8/+3 +6 +2 +2  
9 +9/+4 +6 +3 +3 Remove disease 3/week
10 +10/+5 +7 +3 +3  
11 +11/+6/+1 +7 +3 +3  
12 +12/+7/+2 +8 +4 +4 Remove disease 4/week
13 +13/+8/+3 +8 +4 +4  
14 +14/+9/+4 +9 +4 +4  
15 +15/+10/+5 +9 +5 +5 Remove disease 5/week
16 +16/+11/+6/+1 +10 +5 +5  
17 +17/+12/+7/+2 +10 +5 +5  
18 +18/+13/+8/+3 +11 +6 +6 Remove disease 6/week
19 +19/+14/+9/+4 +11 +6 +6  
20 +20/+15/+10/+5 +12 +6 +6  

Table: Paladin Spells Per Day
Level 1st 2nd 3rd 4th
5 0
6 0
7 1
8 1 0
9 1 0
10 1 1
11 1 1 0
12 1 1 1
13 1 1 1
14 2 1 1 0
15 2 1 1 1
16 2 2 1 1
17 2 2 2 1
18 3 2 2 1
19 3 3 3 2
20 3 3 3 3

Detect Evil: At will, the paladin can detect evil as a spell-like ability. This ability duplicates the effects of the spell detect evil.

Divine Grace: A paladin applies her Charisma modifier (if positive) as a bonus to all saving throws.

Lay on Hands: Each day a paladin can cure a total number of hit points equal to the paladin's Charisma bonus (if any) times the paladin's level. The paladin can cure themselves. The paladin may choose to divide her curing among multiple recipients, and he or she doesn't have to use it all at once. Lay on hands is a spell-like ability whose use is a standard action.

Alternatively, the paladin can use any or all of these points to deal damage to undead creatures. Treat this attack just like a touch spell. The paladin decides how many cure points to use as damage after successfully touching the undead creature.

Divine Health: A paladin is immune to all diseases, including magical diseases.

Aura of Courage: Beginning at 2nd level, a paladin is immune to fear (magical or otherwise). Allies within 10 feet of the paladin gain a +4 morale bonus on saving throws against fear effects. Granting the morale bonus to allies is a supernatural ability.

Smite Evil: Once per day, a paladin of 2nd level or higher may attempt to smite evil with one normal melee attack. She adds her Charisma modifier (if positive) to the paladin's attack roll and deals 1 extra point of damage per level. If the paladin accidentally smites a creature that is not evil, the smite has no effect but it is still used up for that day. Smite evil is a supernatural ability.

Remove Disease: Beginning at 3rd level, a paladin can remove disease, as per the spell remove disease, once per week. Remove disease is a spell-like ability for paladins.

Turn Undead: The paladin may use this ability a number of times per day equal to three plus the paladin's Charisma modifier. The paladin turns undead as a cleric of two levels lower would.

Extra Turning: As a feat, a paladin may take Extra Turning. This feat allows the paladin to turn undead four more times per day than normal. A paladin can take this feat multiple times, gaining four extra daily turning attempts each time.

Spells: Beginning at 4th level, a paladin gains the ability to cast a small number of divine spells. To cast a spell, the paladin must have a Wisdom score of at least 10 + the spell's level. Paladin bonus spells are based on Wisdom, and saving throws against these spells have a Difficulty Class of 10 + spell level + Wisdom modifier. When the paladin gets 0 spells of a given level, such as 0 1st-level spells at 4th level, the paladin gets only bonus spells. A paladin has access to any spell on the paladin spell list and can freely choose which to prepare, just as a cleric can.

A paladin prepares and casts spells just as a cleric does (though the paladin cannot use spontaneous casting to substitute a cure spell in place of a prepared spell).

Through 3rd level, a paladin has no caster level. Starting at 4th level, a paladin's caster level is one-half his or her class level.

Special Mount: Upon or after reaching 5th level, a paladin can call an unusually intelligent, strong, and loyal steed to serve him or her in her crusade against evil. This mount is usually a heavy warhorse (for a Medium-size paladin) or a warpony (for a Small paladin).

Should the paladin's mount die, another cannot be called for a year and a day. The new mount has all the accumulated abilities due a mount of the paladin's level.

The DM will provide information about the mount that responds to the paladin's call.

Code of Conduct: A paladin must be of lawful good alignment and loses all special class abilities if she ever willingly commits an act of evil. Additionally, a paladin's code requires that she respect legitimate authority, act with honor (not lying, not cheating, not using poison, etc.), help those who need help (provided they do not use the help for evil or chaotic ends), and punish those that harm or threaten innocents.

Associates: While she may adventure with characters of any good or neutral alignment, a paladin will never knowingly associate with evil characters. A paladin will not continue an association with someone who consistently offends her moral code. A paladin may only hire henchmen or accept followers who are lawful good.

Ex-Paladins: A paladin who ceases to be lawful good, who willfully commits an evil act, or who grossly violates the code of conduct loses all special abilities and spells, including the service of the paladin's warhorse. She also may not progress in levels as a paladin. She regains her abilities if she atones for her violations, as appropriate.